Honorary Chair

President and Chief Executive Officer
The Global Telemedicine Group

Honorary Chair

Arizona Telemedicine Program


Medical Director for Center for Telehealth
University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center


Southwest Telehealth Resource Center

SPS 2017 National Advisory Board

  • Joseph S. Alpert, MD
    Editor in Chief
    The American Journal of Medicine
  • Richard S. Bakalar, MD
    Managing Director, Advisory Services in Healthcare Solutions
    KPMG, LLP, Denver, CO
  • David C. Balch, MA
    Chief Technology Officer
    Vesalius Ventures, Houston, TX
  • Joel E. Barthelemy
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    GlobalMed, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Rashid Bashshur, PhD
    Senior Advisor for eHealth
    eHealth Center, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Anne E. Burdick, MD, MPH
    Associate Dean for TeleHealth and Clinical Outreach
    Professor of Dermatology
    University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Miami, FL
  • Robert "Bob" Burns
    Arizona Corporation Commission, Phoenix, AZ
  • Daniel J. Derksen, MD
    Professor and Walter H. Pearce Endowed Chair, Community, Environment & Policy Department
    Director, Arizona Center for Rural Health
    University of Arizona Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, Tucson, AZ
  • Charles R. Doarn, MBA
    Editor-in-Chief, Telemedicine and e-Health Journal
    Family Medicine, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH
  • Joe G.N. “Skip” Garcia, MD
    Merlin K. DuVal, MD, Endowed Chair for Leadership and Innovation
    Professor of Medicine
    University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
  • Alexis S. Gilroy, JD
    Jones Day, Washington, DC
  • Paula Guy
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Salus Telehealth, Waycross, GA
  • B. Tilman Jolly, MD, FACEP
    Chief Medical Officer
    Specialists On Call, Reston, VA
  • Nathaniel Lacktman, JD
    Foley & Lardner, LLP, Tampa, FL
  • James P. Marcin, MD, MPH
    Professor, Pediatric Critical Care
    UC Davis Children's Hospital, Sacramento, CA
  • Ronald C. Merrell, MD
    Editor-in-Chief, Telemedicine and e-Health Journal
    Emeritus Professor of Surgery, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Randall Moore, MD, MBA
    Mercy Virtual, Chesterfield, MO
  • Thomas S. Nesbitt, MD, MPH
    Associate Vice Chancellor and Professor, Family and Community Medicine
    UC Davis Health System, Sacramento, CA
  • Marta J. Petersen, MD
    Medical Director
    Utah Telehealth Network, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Alan Pitt, MD
    Chief Medical Officer, Avizia, Phoenix, AZ
    Professor of Neuroradiology, Barrow Neurological Institute, Phoenix, AZ
  • Ronald K. Poropatich, MD
    Executive Director, Center for Military Medicine Research
    University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Dena Puskin, ScD
    Director (retired), State Policy and Market Analysis
    Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Potomac, MD
  • Karen Rheuban, MD
    Director, Center for Telehealth
    University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
  • Jay H. Shore, MD, MPH
    Director of Telemedicine
    University of Colorado Depression Center, Aurora, CO
  • Nancy L. Vorhees, RN, MSN
    Chief Administrative Officer
    Inland Northwest Health Services, Spokane, WA

Convention Coordinators

  • Kris Erps, Associate Director for Administration, Arizona Telemedicine Program
  • Nancy Rowe, Associate Director for Outreach, Arizona Telemedicine Program

sps@telemedicine.arizona.edu or 1-877-535-6166